Reflecting with my students

I am finally writing about reflection. My students have had the chance to really reflect on their learning. The reflection process turned out to be very meaningful and empowering for my students. I introduced the activity by letting students know that I also stop and reflect on my teaching and learning twice a year with my Head of School. I explained that we all have areas we need to grow in, and it is good, to be honest about where our strengths and weaknesses lie.
Both of my classes were honest and open with their reflections and so many meaningful conversations took place. I had the opportunity to really get to know and understand my students on a different level. Shy and quiet students admitted on their papers that they don’t seek assistance from teachers when they need it. Students who were strong in the area of science and math opened up that reading and writing does not interest them too much. One student talked with me and let me know that he really has trouble getting his ideas into writing. The most powerful reflection came from a student that has had a difficult time getting along with classmates in the gym and at recess. I have been going the extra mile for this student for the last year and a half. She came up to me and showed me her sheet and pointed to the word flexible and told me how being flexible is so hard for her. We talked together and I told her that I would help her work in this area and she smiled the biggest smile.
I am so pleased with how this reflection went so smoothly with my students. They felt safe, to be honest, and open. Hopefully, this first reflection sets us on the right path with growth mindsets for a terrific year. Will I be doing ongoing reflection throughout the year? Absolutely!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *